How to: Survive a Concert

From an early age I have experienced what it’s like to attend gigs/concerts and I can tell you whole heartedly that it’s one of my favourite things to get up to, I’d even class it as a hobby. I’ve always been into bands and the ‘alternative’ style of music and I’ve seen plenty live, so I believe I know the most common do’s and don’t’s. Now this guide could also help you if you’re going to a festval this summer as they are fairly similar (apart from staying in a tent for a weekend and getting little to no sleep) I may not be an expert but I do have some tips.

Who Will You Be Going With?

This may sound slightly obvious but when you find an artist or band that you like who is playing near you, you want to make sure you’re going to attend the concert with someone who enjoys them too. Now they don’t need to like them as much as you do but it would be good as they are going to be apart of the memories. you also want to make sure you’re comfortable with them, especially if it’s at a venue where you’ll be standing as you want to trust that they’ll stay with you through the whole concert as it’ll be near on possible to find them during or after.

When Should You Arrive?

To be straight up, I always get there with plenty of time on my hands. This may sound like a drag but i do this for a few reasons. If I’ve never been to the venue I want to make sure I have plenty of time to get there in case the worst comes to worst and I get lost on the way. I also like to get there early due to my height and HATE being nearer to the back as I’ll just see the back of someone’s head the whole time.

Is Your Outfit Appropriate?

Now I know from being in this position that you want to wear something that looks and makes you feel 10/10. However, you may want to keep in mind that wearing something less fitted is probably wise as you’ll probably be sweating buckets due to how hot it gets. Especially if you’re standing, you want to make sure that you’re wearing shoes that don’t make you feel like you’re walking on glass after an hour of wearing them as you’ll be wearing them a lot longer than that!

Where Should You Eat?

The majority of places won’t allow you to bring your own food and drinks into the venue, meaning you’ll have to pay out their extortionate prices. This is why I personally like to eat before I leave my house, I’ll also have a drink before and go to the toilet before I actually go into the venue. I think you’ll benefit from this otherwise you’ll miss parts of the concert and if you’re standing it’s going to be a nightmare to get back through the crowd and you probably won’t have the same spot as you had before.

What Should You Bring?

A lot of people want to have a memory of the concerts they’ve attended so make sure you bring your phone so you can record some videos- be careful because even though the majority of people mind their own business, not everyone does. I’d also bring some money in case you want to buy some merchandise after. But apart from that I wouldn’t bring much else as you’re going to have to carry it around for pretty much the whole day( I also HATE that one person who brings a huge bag, so don’t be that perosn)

Have Fun

last but not least, have fun!

One thought on “How to: Survive a Concert

Leave a comment